The Lily Pond by Claude Monet {An Art Review}

capture

This post is about one of my all time favourite paintings ever, “The Lily Pond” By  Claude Monet. For my school work I had to review this painting, produce a copy of it and write a blog post about it. I am writing as if I was around in his time….

Claude Monet has blown us away again as he releases a new painting.  At 59 yrs of age art critics were doubting his ability to paint anymore but now he has gone and proven them wrong.  The Lily Pond was painted at Giverny, Monet’s estate in France, with oils on canvas.

Monet is becoming quite well know for his  many lily paintings.  He is almost obsessive about his study of lights and darks at different times of the day and of the year.  It is through his thorough observation of colours that he is able to create such realistic paintings.

By limiting his use of colours to just five, Monet has shown us exactly why he is known as an impressionist artist.  Greens and yellows were obviously his shades of choice in this oil painting of a lily pond.  As can be seen on closer inspection of his painting, an almost limitless number of greens have been used.  This myriad of green hues is created by mixing those original five colours, creating the most beautiful effect of reality.  As an observer, I feel like I am looking through a window instead of at a canvas.

Monet uses contrasting shades, again mixed with great care from just five colours, so he is able to achieve lights and shadows without ever resorting to the use of black paint.  It is well known that he abhorred black paint!

I believe this might very well be one of his best works.  I have found myself drawn into his world of lily’s and I don’t ever want to leave.

About Lillie Stew-ART

I am a 13 yr old girl who lives to make jewelry. I am Home schooled and live with my 4 siblings and parents
This entry was posted in Art Review. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Lily Pond by Claude Monet {An Art Review}

  1. Claire says:

    Well done Lillie, I’m really enjoying your thoughts on the artists you are studying 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Impressionist Artist Study: Monet – angelicscalliwags

  3. This is wonderful Lillie! All the best as you blog and create!

    Like

  4. Grace says:

    Lillie, you will never cease to amaze me!

    Like

  5. I love your review, I didn’t know he only used 5 colors. It doesn’t look like that when you look at the painting.

    Like

  6. I know! It shocked me when I found out:)

    Like

  7. lillie, good job. I didnt know about the five colour rule, never would have guessed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

